Astrology refers to the study of the positions of the various celestial bodies in the heavens. Those who study astrology are called astrologers and they believe that the movements of these bodies have an influence on human life on earth. Although people in ancient times relied on the bodies they saw in the sky to help explain events that occurred and to predict the future, modern astrology involves three main traditions – Vedic Astrology, Chinese Astrology and Western Astrology.

Both Vedic and Western astrology share the same signs of the Zodiac:

In Western astrology these signs no longer correlate to the original positions of their corresponding constellations in the sky, which is called the tropical zodiac. These signs divide the sky into twelve equal segments of 30 degrees each. However, in Vedic astrology, the sidereal Zodiac signs are linked to the original constellations. The Vedic tradition also uses 27 or 28 lunar mansions, which are divisions of the sky and a system of planetary periods, known as dashes.

In Chinese astrology, the sky is divided by the celestial equator, rather than by the celestial bodies. There are twelve double hours in the sky, which correspond to the twelve months of the year.

According to astrologers each of the planets has meaning to life on earth.